Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra percussion audition

Audition information

Third percussion
Application deadline
March 30, 2018
Audition date
May 26–27, 2018
Go to web page

(Posted on March 7, 2018; last updated almost 2 years ago)

Find other percussion auditions listed on Magnum Opus.

Audition Repertoire
Snare drum excerpts
BartókConcerto for Orchestra
ProkofievLieutenant Kijé
ProkofievSymphony No. 5
Rimsky-KorsakovCapriccio Espagnol, Op. 34
Rimsky-KorsakovScheherazade, Op. 35
SchumanNew England Triptych
On drum set, demonstrate swing, rock, latin (rumba, samba, bossa nova), 3/4 jazz, and show style 2/4
Drum set excerpts
On congas, ad-lib latin and swing grooves
Glockenspiel excerpts
DukasThe Sorcerer’s Apprentice
MozartThe Magic Flute
RespighiPines of Rome
StraussDon Juan, Op. 20
WilliamsThe Patriot
Xylophone excerpts
BartókMusic for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta
CoplandAppalachian Spring
  • Hoe Down
GershwinPorgy and Bess: Selection for Orchestra
KabalevskyThe Comedians, Op. 26
  • Comedians’ Galop
RavelMa mère l’oye (Mother Goose) Suite
Bass drum excerpts
BerliozSymphonie fantastique
MahlerSymphony No. 3
StravinskyThe Rite of Spring
Tambourine excerpts
DvořákCarnival Overture
Rimsky-KorsakovCapriccio Espagnol, Op. 34
Rimsky-KorsakovScheherazade, Op. 35
StravinskyPetrushka (1947 version)
Cymbals excerpts
MussorgskyNight on Bald Mountain
RachmaninoffPiano Concerto No. 2
TchaikovskyRomeo and Juliet
TchaikovskySymphony No. 4
Vibraphone excerpts
BernsteinSymphonic Dances from West Side Story
SchullerSeven Studies on Themes of Paul Klee
  • “Little Blue Devil”
Triangle excerpts
BrahmsSymphony No. 4
DvořákSymphony No. 9, “New World”
Rimsky-KorsakovCapriccio Espagnol, Op. 34
Rimsky-KorsakovScheherazade, Op. 35
Bass drum and cymbals excerpts
  • Danse Russe
TchaikovskySwan Lake
  • Valse
Solo repertoire
BachSonata No. 1 for Solo Violin, BWV 1001
  • Fugue: 1–64
Section playing with RPO players (finals only)
BrittenThe Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra
  • Variation M: all instruments
Possible sight-reading

    It’s quiet in here! Log in to comment.